Keeping Baby Cozy (Review & GIVEAWAY!)

Baby Nurse Question: I want my baby to be warm enough at night in her crib but my pediatrician says I should not put blankets on her. Is there another solution?

This is such a common concern among new parents and the answer is, yes, there’s a solution. As I highlight in The Baby Nurse Bible, The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that your baby’s crib be free of any blankets, stuffed animals, pillows, sleep positioners, or even bumpers. This minimizes SIDS risk and should be strictly adhered to. But for colder months or if you have air conditioning or central air on in the summer sleep sacks are a great solution—particularly for babies over two months old who are starting to wiggle out of their swaddle blanket! It’s essentially a blanket that your baby can wear safely, as it’s secured and zipped up around the body without the risk of it nearing the face.

An adorable and functional sleep sack I recently came across (and highly recommend!) is the Baby Deedee Sleep Nest. It was created by mom of two Dominique de Bourgknecht, who, concerned about the cool temperature in her first-born’s nursery wanted to ensure he felt cozy and secure while sleeping in his crib. It has a soft cotton exterior and is filled with light, breathable, plush duvet quilting. I love the fact that it has shoulder snaps for those nights when baby falls asleep nursing or in your arms—you can just slip him right in without disruption. This will definitely be my new go-to item for baby showers and gifts!

For summer months in less cool homes I recommend dressing your baby in a cotton onsie with the Sleep Nest. For more recommendations on how to dress your baby for Sleep Nest wearing in various seasons, more details, and to find out where you can purchase a Sleep Nest visit their website.

GIVEAWAY: Baby Deedee was kind enough to provide a Sleep Nest to give away to one lucky reader.

To enter:

“Like” Baby Deedee on Facebook here OR Follow them on Twitter here and be sure to leave a comment below by Wednesday July 13 to let us know you did so. We will randomly select a winner from all comments on Wednesday July 13 and notify the winner via email.

Disclosure: I received a Baby Deedee Sleep Nest in order to facilitate this review

20 Comments to “Keeping Baby Cozy (Review & GIVEAWAY!)”

  1. What a great idea! My daughter is a month old and slips out of her swaddle, so this would be perfect!

  2. Followed on Twitter from @karahoisi! Heading to my sister’s baby shower next weekend, this would be perfect 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for entering! It definitely makes for a great gift Kara, and I think you’d love it for your daughter, Melissa! -Carole

  4. I’m due with baby #3 in September & this seems like a MUST-HAVE!!!!

  5. Just had a baby 4 weeks ago and this would be perfect for him!!! He loves being warm, but hates being swaddled.

  6. This looks like a great idea!

  7. Congrats on expecting your 3rd Kate and on your new son Amy! And thanks to everyone who has entered so far!

  8. Happy to be following @babydeedeesleep on twitter now! I’m Due in two weeks and this product is SO much cuter than similar versions I’ve seen in stores!

  9. Thanks so much for entering Allison! It is such a cute product and so well made. Good luck with everything, congrats, and stay tuned for more giveaways coming up! 🙂

  10. I have been eyeing these for a while now. My 12 week old is just about ready to move on from the swaddle. Time for a cozy sleep nest!
    Just followed on twitter under @mothermego.

  11. I follow baby deedee on Twitter as @ToBeThode. Thanks for the chance… this would be great for the baby due this fall.

  12. I am following Baby Deedee on FB ~ Kendra Mason

  13. I liked them on FB – lauren becker

  14. I liked them on FB! Micah Pearson

  15. I follow at misaacmom

    misaacmom at gmail dot com

  16. I follow them on twitter (@RachelsReviews). Thanks for the chance to win, I love the snaps and zip up front.

  17. Thank you everyone for entering and for joining the Baby Deedee Community! We’re randomly picking a winner this evening and will email 🙂 More giveaways to come on our blog so stay tuned by liking us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/BostonBabyNurses and following us on Twitter @bostonbabynurse!

  18. i like baby deedee on fb
    i hope im not to late entering

  19. I like “Baby Deedee” on Facebook. (Anja M. Anjathisandthat).

    anjathisandthat at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

