Baby Nurse Question: What if my baby needs me and I don’t hear her while I sleep?

QI’m afraid to fall asleep because I feel like my newborn might need me and I won’t hear her. What if she spits up or something?

A. Most new parents have this fear and it just shows how much you care. But you need to relax and keep telling yourself she’ll be fine–because she will be! If she does spit up, she will turn her head, or cough and cry (believe me, you’ll wake then!) The bottom line here is that in order to take the absolute best care of your baby, you need to be well rested. Yes it’s cliche but persists because of it’s importance, especially in the first couple months: sleep when your baby sleeps!

 

Leave a Reply

